Pre-Requisites to Start React Native

Pre-Requisites to Start React Native

Featured on daily.dev

I know that I had promised a setting up React Native blog, but I got an important question in the comments. The question was: How much React.js knowledge is required for React Native?. Shoutout to Tushar Tiwari for that amazing question. That got me wondering, I had given a very vague answer in the previous blog, and that wasn't very clear on what are the prerequisites.

I am gonna leave the previous blog link over here.

stickergiant-what-are-the-requirements.gif

What are the requirements or prerequisites to start React Native?

Material Prerequisites

You'll need to have these material prerequisites to develop in React Native:

  • A Laptop.

  • A Mobile Phone.

  • An Emulator(Not necessary, but it will be good for you if you have one. We'll talk more about it in future blogs).

  • A Code Editor(VSCode preferably).

  • Spotify(of course, nothing is complete without some good music🎵).

The Basics of JavaScript

If you wanna learn React.js or any other JavaScript Framework, you'll need to have basic knowledge of JavaScript. So, for starting React Native, you'll need to know these basics.

Let me now explain what I mean by the basics of JS:

  • Variables

  • Functions

  • Conditionals

  • Operators

  • DOM(Document Object Module)

The Basics of React.js

For anyone to start React Native, they need to know React.js.

brian-regan-derp.gif

Let me now explain what I mean by the basics of React.js:

  • JSX Knowledge.

  • useState Hook.

  • useEffect Hook.

  • useRef Hook.

  • Be familiar with the Component Structure.

  • ES6.

  • Props/Properties.

  • Be Familiar with React Router.

Know how to use CLI

If you wanna get started with a React Native project, it is important that you should know how to work with your CLI(Command Line Interface). The need for CLI while coding your React Native Project:

  • Initialise a React Native Project

  • Install Packages

  • Upload and push your code onto GitHub.

  • To run the React Native Project.

  • To find errors in your code.

  • To run a React Native Server on the web.

There are a lot of use cases to the CLI, therefore it is important to know how to use your CLI.

Conclusion

I strongly believe that you don't have to be a pro in React to get started with React Native. All you need is an end goal in mind. You can learn the basics in a few days and just get started with React Native. You can learn all the above React.js concepts while learning React Native. The best way to learn is to get your hands dirty on the tech and getting started with a project.

Some good blogs and tutorials to learn these prerequisites that are mentioned in the above blog.

React.js Component Basics by Victory Ndukwu

Git and GitHub Crash Course by Avneesh Agarwal

JS Tips and Tricks by Savio Martin

Build an App With Your CLI by Tapas Adhikary

Next Up for this Series

I have become a Hashnode Ambassador lately, therefore I will be upgrading the styling of the blog site so that it becomes better and beautiful for you all to look at. We will be moving on to the more practical part from the next blog, where I'll explain how to set up React Native. Also, I've been working on a blog related to Sanity.io and that will be out soon.

Follow my Instagram where I document my journey and post some great content.

My Instagram

My GitHub

Signing off

Arjun